Home > Famines and Crop Destruction > Thailand Declares 333 Districts as Drought Disaster Zones

Thailand Declares 333 Districts as Drought Disaster Zones

“Thailand is undergoing the pangs of drought with Thailand’s Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation declaring 333 districts under 45 provinces across the country as drought disaster zones, Thursday.

A total of 6 million people in 21,888 villages have been affected and 1,726,737 rai of farmland has been scorched.

According to Bangkok Post, in the North Province, Kampangpetch, Chiang Rai, Lamphun, Phayao, Uttaradit, Lampang, Nan, Nakhon Sawan, Phrae, Sukhothai, Tak, Petchabun, Uthai Thani, Phitsanulok, Chiang Mai, Mae Hong Son and Phichit have been affected.

In the Northeast province, Udon Thani, Loei, Nong Khai, Ubon Ratchathani, Mukdaharn, Nong Bua Lamphu, Khon Kaen, Mahasarakam, Sakon Nakhon, Si Sa Ket, Surin, Chaiyaphum and Amnart Charoen have been affected.

Central Plain drought affected regions: Prachuap Khiri Khan, Petchaburi, Sara Buri, Samut Prakan and Kanchanaburi.

Eastern Thailand drought affected regions: Chachoengsao, Trat, Chantaburi, Sa Kaeo, Rayong, Chonburi and Nakhon Nayok are affected.”  Source.


  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect those of MidnightWatcher's Blogspot. Although differences of opinion are welcomed, please refrain from personal attacks and inappropriate language. This blog reserves the right to edit or delete any comments that fail to do so.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: